New Project – Cabinet of Curiosity

November 25, 2013 § 1 Comment

So it’s time for a new project to work on, the task that I have been assigned is this idea of a “cabinet of curiosity”. We have been asked to search our memory bank to find experiences that we could potentially document in a form of image, or a box. They seemed pretty happy for this box to be a virtual or physical format, so we will have to see which I feel is more appropriate to my ideas and concepts. I do think a physical format will probably best represent memories at this stage, but you never know I may devise a crazy idea involving a piece of digital media throughout the project.

We where also asked to look at a few designers that ignite the fire, so I decided to look at Joe Tilson and Peter Blake, who gave me some early inspiration in terms of layouts and also from a conceptual perspective which will fuel my initial ideas. We watched a short video about the artist Joseph Cornell, which was quite insightful also, his box designs becoming quite renowned in the art world. I have to do my best to question all my early ideas, challenging them to ensure I get the best start I can have. The artists work is located on the blog, under the artist/design influence category, where I talk a little bit about my ideas based upon the information I am receiving using their work as influence the mind-maps will follow shortly and hopefully I can generate a few sketches which should also help me visualise these early stages.

§ One Response to New Project – Cabinet of Curiosity

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Project – Cabinet of Curiosity at Jonny Bate.

meta